Quilty as charged

I might need to take my temperature. Some strange delirium has taken hold. I’ve ditched the pastels and gone homespun. Brown and orange homespun to boot.

OK, what actually happened was that I was looking for something else (always am) and I came upon a paper pad I bought ages ago and had never opened. Which, as we know, is a crime against paper and the only way to make reparation is to use it, immediately.

I bought the Crafter’s Companion magazine a couple of weeks ago and had been waiting for inspiration to offer up an idea for the free hexagon dies that came with it. That moment had arrived. Rubbish timing because I wanted to do something else, but when life offers you hexagons, you make something tessellating. It’s the law.

I kept it pretty simple. No man’s land is a dangerous place after all and you need to get in and out again lickety-split.

hexagon honey

The papers are lovely, so it is nice to use them, even though it was only a 4cm square from each sheet! Using the die to cut a little window has worked well too. Next time I would put a greeting there. Or maybe use 3d foam to layer the whole panel onto another piece of card in the same colour as the base, with a scrap of another pattern recessed below the die cut negative space so you get different dimension going on.  (I raised the hexie with the flower image up on this card but the light for the photo was pretty bad so it is not too clear).

I expect normal pastels will be resumed again tomorrow!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Quilty as charged

Leave a Reply

