Size does matter

You only find out why if you read on….

Today I was out and about. A week off work – whoop de doop – and my mother is hunting for some new furniture so abroad we went. Not in the passport requiring way, just out, really. Window shopping. Except nobody bought any windows.

Aaaaaanyway. Whilst out, I came across some cute small white pegs with heart adornments. Gorgeous. Meant as wedding stationery, apparently, but brides don’t get all the fun. £1.99 for 20 meant they had a new home at my place.

Shopping over, I am home and admiring my hearty pegs. BABY CARD shouted the inner voice, in capitals, so as to not be ignored. I wanted something quick, but really pretty, so the Louise Tiler digikits in Serif CraftArtist seemed perfect.

Happy with my choice I selected the pram filled with flowers as the main image. Then I made my own background paper using a matching floral embellishment, copied, pasted, and twisted around for randomness. Whenever I do this kind of project I try to fill the page with extra bits and pieces, maybe images I was dithering over, because you never know what might happen when you go to put it together and I hate wasting posh paper having to print that one thing you realise at the end is just what you need.

I decide to use a fancy tag die I have had for years, because it is so pretty. I cut the background paper to size for my card and the pram image with the tag die. All going swimmingly.  I fetch the hearty peg and voila!  Except the hearty peg is too big for the pram tag, and stands too proud from the top, and just looks all wrong, really. My balloon is well and truly deflated. But then good old Brain remembers what it is there for…….MATCHING GIFT BAG?? it proffers, tentatively, given my darkening mood. Hurrah. We are back in the game.

Back to Serif, make another sheet of background paper reducing the image size, dig out the trusty WRMK gift bag punch board and rustle up a bag to fit the peg. Yes, really, a bag to fit the peg. Don’t judge me. I can do it fine myself.

LT baby girl floral

LT baby girl floral plain background

And this is why size matters.

6 thoughts on “Size does matter

  1. Considering I know parents who dress their kids in Disney colors so the pictures will better match their pre-made album, this is nothing. Of course you need the bag to fit the peg or why make the bag! 🙂 Those pegs are wonderful as is your project.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh that is hilarious! I had no clue that went on. Mad, but also brilliant, for planning skills if nothing else. Your comment has totally made my day, thank you! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

