Ice cream floats and Boy Ahoy!

Yesterday I made and blogged a card for a baby girl, so in the interests of fairness I had to make one for a baby boy too.

I know there are not actually any ‘fairness police’ out there, well not real ones with badges and all, but with due reference to the rule of ‘one pours, the other chooses’ that was drilled into me and my sister, cousins and friends when we were kids, fairness must always come up trumps. If you aren’t fair, there are consequences…

Ice cream floats were the trickiest to gauge just right and make compliant with the rule. As they were an occasional treat you never had much chance to practice. Not like squash pouring. That was for wimps. Ice cream floats were cutting edge, hard core. There is fizzy pop, which you have to pour, then wait for the bubbles to disperse, then even out with tiny, tiny top ups, and wait again. Then the dollop of ice cream to take into account. No science, no scales, just eyeballin’ it.  Trying to drill your way with a spoon into a block frozen solid enough to cause concussion if thrown. Trying to get the scoops even, because you really, really don’t want to have a “double dunker” second scoop in one glass and not another. That would mess up the laws of fairness so bad that the universe might implode. Ah, happy days!!

Anyway, as stated, fairness must rule so here’s the card. I used the Louise Tiler Baby Bloom digikit from Serif again. The little sailor suit is so cute.

LT boy ahoy

I think I prefer this to yesterday’s effort. It was quick and easy and the only additions are a couple of pieces of Card Candi. I was dithering whether to put them on the pennant tails, or either side of the greeting. I plumped for the former, then decided I still wanted something next to the text so just used some punched circles which, sometimes, is the difference that will make you happy with your effort. All that work and two circles from hole punch waste are the defining touch. Go figure.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Ice cream floats and Boy Ahoy!

    1. Thanks so much. I agree totally that boys sometimes get overlooked and I have no idea why. I wanted to comment on your Wordless Wednesday post today but wasn’t sure if I might be breaking some vow of silence rules?!!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Thanks very much. You just made me think – imagine if G45 brought out a CD or digikits? Don’t suppose they ever would but it would be the best thing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

