2 bees it is!

This title will only make sense if you read yesterday’s post…

So I have my second bee card. Yesterday my poor wee brain couldn’t work out how to accomplish the finish at the bottom of the bee paper. I still struggled a bit today, and I’m sure there must bee (sorry!) an easier way of doing it. I wanted all my bees wandering off in different directions, so I decided the order and orientation for the hexagons, sticking all but the first one either up to or over the edge of the paper (so sometimes only gluing the top half of the shape); then positioning the first hexie in the line (no glue), cutting away the background paper enough to make sure it didn’t show and then sticking the hexagon in place. Clear? No, I expect not, because this is a lousy explanation and as I said, I probably made this three times harder than it should have been. Sometimes the light-bulb moment never happens and hard slog is the only way through.

Still, once this was done the rest was easy. A bit of spotty embossing at the bottom of the card – I considered the honeycomb pattern again but thought this time it was too busy for my bees (sorry, sorry)…I cut a second bee out – just the body and wings. Life is too short to spend time fussy cutting bees knees (sorry, sorry, sorry). Glamour Dust his wings, a bit of baker’s twine, a greeting and bulldog clip for what I hope is added rustic charm. Who knew you could buy rustic charm in the supermarket stationery aisle?!

bee 2 card

And because his lovely glittery wings don’t show up too well (it is dark as November here today)….

bee 2 detail

Bee paper and sentiment from Craftwork Cards Potting Shed 2; hexagon dies were free with the Crafter’s Companion magazine; base card is Hunkydory Adorable Scorable; bulldog clip from Sainsbury’s

4 thoughts on “2 bees it is!

Leave a Reply

