Flamingo-a-go-go

Some bright and juicy colours today. This card is made using a paper pad called Paradise Crush. It is really strong greens, oranges, pinks and teals, plus a few more muted colours. Not something I would usually be drawn to, but I am a fan of the designer Louise Tiler’s artwork and, hey, it’s good to step out of the comfort zone and challenge yourself a bit.

The flamingo paper caught my attention first. Flamingos are everywhere at the moment. Well, not literally obviously. There isn’t one sitting on the sofa reading a paper, or driving a mini cab, or working at the local chippie (he’d eat all the fish, right?), but you know what I mean. Anyway, I wanted to feature it, and not cover it up too much. Then I remembered I had a few templates to make quirky shaped cards. Given that flamingos are, themselves, the quirkiest of shapes, I thought it might be fun.

I have had these templates since the internet was a toddler, and they are probably are bit redundant now that we can download anything, but it was nice not to have to do the research and make the template myself, just draw around and cut.

I used a second sheet of card from the same pad for the inside layer and fussy cut a couple of elements from other pages for a bit more interest. The ‘hello’ was left over from yesterday’s post, so I just added 3d foam and Glossy Accents. I need to neaten up the glossy Accents a bit before I can give it to someone!

A template for an envelope is also included. It needs A4 size paper at least and the pad is much smaller, so I searched my Louise Tiler digikits in Serif CraftArtist and found a splodgy (technical term) design to coordinate.

flamingo hello with twineflamingo hello with twine 2

I really enjoyed doing this one, and I love the interesting shapes the templates offer.

Supplies: Trimcraft First Edition Paradise Crush 6 x 6″Paper Pad; Serif CraftArtist Louise Tiler Fashion Florals digikit; Altenew Superscript dies and stamps; Ranger Glossy Accents; Ribbon Room Baker’s Twine

35 thoughts on “Flamingo-a-go-go

  1. This is lovely, really pretty colours and I love the hello bit! I have to admit I have a bit of a flamingo obsession but as yet haven’t managed to get them into my crafting, a project for the future perhaps!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Karen. The paper is fab. I wasn’t sure about the baker’s twine, whether it was just a bit too much? I have now taken it off again and don’t know either way!

    Like

  3. You are right about flamingo’s being in abundance in the realm of paper crafting. Great job on this one. And yes, I have been stamping long enough to have some of the first “tools” as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. Some of the old stuff still has a place though, doesn’t it? I loved these templates when I got them because they were so different to anything else I could buy, and they kind of still are!

      Like

    1. Thanks. A pepper and a flamingo? You have had the most eventful of days. Colour co-ordinated though, strangely. Thanks for the most fun afternoon on your blog today. I got nothing done but I have a smile on my face!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I remember before my die cut machine, I printed traced flip flops onto cardstock and cut them all out by hand for a wedding project I was working on. Just a whole different mind set.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I made those flip flop cards too! Ribbons and beads for the thongs/straps. Just wouldn’t do it now because the hand cut edges would bug me.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. The Flamingo and Whisky a go go were two of my haunts in Soho when I young and fancy free many (no I won’t add another many but I could), years ago. Your title caught my interest. I love the brightness and fun of your flaming card and envelope and enjoy your posts a lot. Thank you

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks! I think I went to the same place – if I am right it became the WAG club, terribly fashionable, like the Camden Palace. I trod on Boy George’s foot there once…what a claim to fame!

      Like

  5. LOVE IT!!!

    Just what I needed to see to remind me of Summer….not that our Winter here in Brisbane is worth complaining about. 🙂

    Another stunning Card that you’ve made look so easy to create. Thank You!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Reblogged this on CraftyCAN's Blog and commented:
    This is such a fun, Summery looking Card with a trendy twist.

    Yet another stunning creation from PaperFluff….is it any wonder I keep reading these? 🙂

    Enjoy…would love to hear what you think of the Flamingo Paper. xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

