Between a rock and a wet place

That is where I have been – geographically, not figuratively – since before Christmas, staying with family. The ‘rock’ is actually a cliff, directly at the back of the house, and the wet place is the sea, smack dab in front. The cliff interferes rather with phone signals and internet access, but not quite so drastically as leaving your gadgets on the sofa 50 miles away does…. Hence the ’radio silence’ for a while, apart from a few hours where I borrowed a Kindle. Actually it was quite good to have an enforced severance – it did make me realise just how much I use the internet (an alarming amount, if I am honest), and that it is possible to survive without it.

Still, I am back now and whilst unlikely to make it through every blog post I missed, I will try to catch up a bit over the next few days. I also needed (it appears I need to craft regularly!) to rustle up a quick Happy New Year card, for all my lovely blogging chums, or indeed anyone who comes across it, really! This is very simple – just die cutting the champagne bottles, making a layer to go behind each bottle and then die cutting the greeting. Done in less time than it takes to eat the last mince pie. Well, if you keep stopping to make a card, that is!

 

happy-new-year-card

I may need to address my prioritising in 2017. In the haste to get en route (first train journey with the cat, I was a nervous wreck) to our Christmas venue the technology got left behind, but the elf kitty costume was safely transported to the coast. Go figure. Here is a picture of my sister’s rescue cat Sossage, happily sporting the elf collar. Sossage is a tiny, tiny cat. Not just ‘a bit small’, but really tiny. She is 100% adorable, and seems perfectly happy to be dressed up, and to pose for pictures.

And don’t worry, this is a battery candle, not a real one!!

sossage-with-candle

I think she was less convinced about the hat…

sossage-elf

 

Hope everyone had a great Christmas and I wish you all the best for 2017!

 

44 thoughts on “Between a rock and a wet place

  1. Welcome back! Was wondering where you’d got to … glad you had a good time, and good for you for going offline. (My phone battery died over Christmas, which is a bad thing and a good thing.) What a cutie Sossage is (love the name). Probably the first cat I know of that actually tolerates a costume. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I became a non-blogger for a while there, and it felt very odd. I kept wondering what everyone was up to. I hope the coming year is a good one for you!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Mine will probably just sit in a box somewhere, until it comes in useful or falls apart. I just needed to get back in the swing of making stuff!

      Like

      1. oops! I see I typed “you” instead of “your” – so sorry!

        I do love the champagne bottle card, we are just homebodies.

        I ALSO appreciate “getting back into the swing” of making things!

        Happy New Year! May your cat not hide your tools!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I didn’t notice the typo! Actually I really dislike New Year’s Eve, and always have done! Something about the forced jollity just doesn’t do it for me. And I love your ‘Confucius style’ sentiment there. Very funny!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!
    While you were stuck between your pebble and your puddle I spent ALL NIGHT waiting for Ting to come back in…I watched “Family Guy” and Robbie Williams and ate my own body weight in Family Circle biscuits and Celebrations…
    Great card! Hope you had a good time and all the best for 2017 🙂 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So you do literally have a party animal, then?! Has Ting got a catnip hangover today? She can’t have a ‘hair of the dog’ cure, though, can she? Surely that would just be wrong… And anyway, somebody has to eat the biscuits!! Hope 2017 is good for you and yours Xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol…hmm…don’t what she was doing but she was still in bed when we left to visit my mother…
        Perhaps “hair of the mouse” would be more species appropriate…and I really can’t eat another unidentifiable non-branded biscuit…!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Does she have a good vocabulary? Maybe she took ‘seeing in the New Year’ literally? Then slouched off to bed disappointedly when it became clear that the new year looked suspiciously similar to the old one.

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Robbie was great! I was not a Take That fan – I actually barely knew they existed really – but I do like him. Some cats are definitely word-smart, others are more focused on, well, dinner and naps! It’s their job and they take it seriously.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy New Year Gill! I’m glad to hear that you had a lovely Christmas and I hope that this year is going to be a great one for you and your family 🙂 This card is a fab start to a New Year of crafting and little Sossage – well, what a cutie!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We had a lovely time thank you! Luckily no-one else went down with the sickness bug but my daughter has had a horrible cough and sore throat for the past few days 😦 She’s still smiling though bless her!

    Like

  5. Glad you are back! We do seem to become more and more intertwined with the internet and our electronic gadgets, don’t we? I have been trying to limit my time spent on the internet and use that time to create…we shall see how this works in 2017! I love the photos of the cat! He/She reminds me so much of our Patches…I miss her so. Here’s to a great 2017! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh bless. Look at her little face! She is so sweet! Dont worry about the candle though. My cat singed her whiskers a couple weeks back because she decided to sniff an actual candle. She is absolutely fine, but she now knows not to go near them!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy New Year!
    I like this simple, but festive card! You reminded me, that I had made a New Year’s card for ourselves, but forgot about it. New Year was our main holiday in Russia and still is, as Christmas celebrations were prohibited in Soviet Union from 1929 till 1990. Now with all the Christmas celebrations here, in U.S., I realize, that I even don’t have any “Happy New Year” stamp!
    Sossage looks cute in this costume!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy New Year to you too! We don’t do New Year cards here much, but I never got round to doing a Christmas card to “send” to my blogging pals I needed to rustle one up! I guess you can keep yours for next year now!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

