More anchors than the Navy

This is a card I made for personal use. The recipient lives at the coast, and I think I briefly became like one of those who, at the mere mention of boats, feels compelled to dress in all things nautical. This is my card-making equivalent of a striped top, gold-buttoned blazer, deck shoes and a spotted kerchief or peaked cap…..

come-sail-with-me

I started off with a fab Crafty Individuals stamp which has a sailing boat (or maybe it is a yacht, I am ignorant as to the difference between the two) and a collage-type background with maps and text. As the bottom of the stamp said ‘Come Sail with Me’ and the card is for someone else’s fella I kind of lopped that off by scuffing up the edges with scissors. I then re-inked the stamp twice more, once in the same blue and once in a brown, and fussy cut the boat only to give me a small flotilla instead of a lone sailor.

Next I used an Inkylicious worn paint stamp, which I dusted with some of the same brown ink. The base of the card is a TODO anchors embossing folder, used on white card which has been inked on the reverse side with the Adirondack Denim ink. I really like how this bit turned out.

Once everything was layered up I still wanted more detail, or interest. So I grabbed some bunting dies and made what I hope looked like some boaty-type flags, plus a couple of pennant shapes too. And some punched gold circles for rivets. Oh and then yet another anchor!! I think I may have got them out of my system now…

Supplies: stamps Crafty Individuals CI 457 and Inkylicious Worn Paint; Inks – Adirondack Denim and Distress Vintage Photo; Dies – Poppystamps Anchors Away and Tattered Lace bunting from a stepper card set; TODO anchors embossing folder (sorry, I don’t know the actual folder name, if it has one!); all card from stash

 

51 thoughts on “More anchors than the Navy

    1. Sorry! I have had it for ages but I think it is still available. I actually feel bad for not having used it more… This company have some really great stamps!

      Like

    1. Lol, maybe you are just ‘navy-ed out’?! I love all things Christmas but I don’t want to think about it or look at it in January!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

