Ziggy Played Guitar…

…Rebel Rebel… Wild is the Wind… I’m the space invader… Sailors fighting in the dance hall… We can be heroes, just for one day…

I could go on. Just a few of the post titles that automatically popped into my head as I sat to write this: songs or lyrics I immediately associate with David Bowie. There are countless others, which either caught my imagination at the time, or gradually sank in over the years.

I can’t and don’t write about music. But this chap, this Mr David Bowie was such a huge part of my and my sister’s growing up and beyond that I have to observe the first anniversary of his passing in some way. And I really don’t think lighting a candle will do it.

For certain there will be many thousands of tributes paid in the coming hours via every kind of media going. My observance is just sending a little thank you out there. A thank you to my sister for making me (really, I had no choice!) a fan, and for some of the best of times, shared, with a great soundtrack courtesy of the amazing David Bowie.

Oh, and, a boyfriend from my younger days used to live next door to Bowie as a kid and got stung by a bee in his garden. I think this makes me practically family….!

 

22 thoughts on “Ziggy Played Guitar…

    1. Yep, good song! We first saw him singing Starman on a TV show and my sister was transfixed!! I think I was about 8. And wearing a nylon dressing gown. Cool!!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. “Oh wow look at those cave men go..”
    Yep, loved his music through all his manifestations…sad to think he’s gone. Mick Jagger is obviously made from teflon and steel and totally indestructible!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Or the stuff that black boxes are made from! Funny, because sis and I were having a ‘what is your favourite song EVER conversation a few weeks ago, and Gimme Shelter is probably hers, even though she is a dyed-in-the-wool Bowie fan!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha ha! I’m a Stones fan, I think my favourite song would have to be “Paint it Black”, although I also like “Sympathy for the Devil”…do you like David Bowie’s Black Star album?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I actually haven’t heard it! I know, shame on me, but I do definitely prefer the earlier stuff. I have been told it is good, but I found the snippets I heard just a bit too sad, somehow, to want to hear more. Daft, I know!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, I am having trouble with comments from my knitting blog. Can you go look to see if any of my comments are in your spam and then mark them as not spam? Thanks so much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, sorry for the delay but I couldn’t access the folder until today. I have found comments from you and marked them as ‘not spam’. Hope this helps! Let me know if you need anything else. I will check the folder again from time to time to see if it is still happening and let you know if so. Xx

      Like

Leave a comment